Bloodlust

Movie Review by Siobahn Harris

Bloodlust was such a fun watch for me! I know, it is super cheesy, but I really enjoyed it! I think my favorite part was seeing Robert Reed (Mr. Brady) in a much darker environment than I’m used to seeing. Let’s break things down a little different today.

Here’s the story of a little island, that was run by an old crazy hunter man. It’s was just him, his wife, and helpers, but he was getting bored.

It’s the story about a man named Brady, way back before his group became a family. He came with three friends to this small island, at this time they were free.

Till the one day when the hunter met the children, and he insisted that they all stay for a munch. Then they found out the hunter wanted them dead.

That’s the way they all became The Bloodlust Bunch. The Bloodlust Bunch, The Bloodlust Bunch. That’s the way, they became The Bloodlust bunch!

I hope you sang that! Anywho! That basically sums up the movie. The four teens, Johnny (Robert Reed), Betty (June Kenney), Pete (Eugene Persson), and Jeanne (Joan Lora), make there way to the island because their drunk boat captain fell asleep. Their hope was to find some hidden treasure. Unfortunately, they found Dr. Balleau (Wilton Graff) instead. In the beginning he seems friendly, but after having a talk with his wife Sandra (Lilyan Chauvin) and Dean (Walter Brooke) they realize that they need to make a break for it. It’s only when that plan blows up in their faces that they find out why Dr. Balleau is keeping them around. Soon they are fighting for their lives in an attempt to escape the island.

My Thoughts:

Bloodlust was a surprisingly great movie! I honestly, thought that I was going to be bored, but I wasn’t. The creators of this film did a great job utilizing blood and gore without over using it, which could have been very easily done. The dialog was really well done. While it did have some parts that made it a tad cringey, I really enjoyed the dialog among the teens. It was stiff at some points, but I felt that it was to be expected for the time period.

One of my favorite scenes was when Jeanne found a corset on the beach and asked Pete if it was pirate armor. It created this innocence about her with just one line. Since I started watching the old movies, I’ve noticed that the last line of the film is one that they want to stick with you. So it is fun to watch these movies with that in mind.

True Fear?

Yes! There were definitely moments that made me jump and yell at my screen. Again, I was surprised by this because I really expected to be bored with this one. This was a fun watch! Regardless of the blood and gore, I think it would be a great watch for any level of horror fan.

One thought on “Movie Review: Bloodlust

  1. I TOTALLY sang along!!! And I am going to definitely watch this throw back horror movie! Loved the review and it is perfect timing because of the whole anniversary of the Brady’s going on. I can not wait to see a young dad Brady Robert Reed. I love to see actors I know well from other things in roles when they were first starting out. Bring on the popcorn!!

    Like

Leave a comment