Number 30 on the Countdown to Halloween

My Bloody Valentine

Movie Review by Siobahn Harris

Normally, I steer clear of reviewing any movies that I’ve seen before. I almost avoided this movie because I watched the 2009 version of My Bloody Valentine, which starred Jensen Ackles. However, since I’ve never seen this version, I thought I should give it a chance.

You guys know me, I’m always nervous about the older movies because I’m worried they will not be able to bring it. Thankfully, this is another classic horror that was beautifully done. While there were some weird parts about the story itself, the kills and the special effects that went along with it really made this movie.

I found this movie on Huluween. Much like last year, Hulu is celebrating Halloween way better than Netflix.

I really want to give a shout out to the special effects crew that worked on this film. The human hearts, the melted face, and the shower scene (my favorite), which you can see above, everything was perfect! The only reason I’m showing the shower scene image is because in the version I watched, they don’t show it. It was the one kill I wanted to see and they left it out! It was such a bummer.

The Breakdown:

My Bloody Valentine is based on a small town that waited 20 years to throw a Valentine’s Day dance. The town’s troubled history led everyone to avoid celebrating the holiday at all. However, when the mayor is sent a human heart in a heart shaped box, he fears their past has come back. Soon he cancels the dance and tells everyone to take down the decorations.

The police officer who locked up the union hall told the kids, “There will be no dance tomorrow night, and no party either”. Captain buzz kill! Yeah, it’s a bummer but I think he was pretty clear. However, later the kids are all sitting around and they say, “If we can’t have the dance, what will we do instead?” One boy perks up and says, “Hey! How about a party?!” And everyone acts like that’s a new idea. It’s like they are all thinking, Howard is a genius, the cop said we couldn’t have the dance but he never say anything about no parties! “There will be no dance tomorrow night, and no party either.” Calm down, dumb asses, no dance, no party. Why couldn’t they have just waited until the 15th to have a party or just did it on the 13th?

Anyway! Thanks to the bartender, we find out the history of the town. Twenty years prior during the Valentine’s Day dance, there was a terrible accident in the mine, which trapped five workers under rubble. He made a point to say that people at the party, continued to party. Of course they did, I doubt they knew about the cave in. He said that they worked endlessly for six weeks to help save the five men. But when they got there, only one man, Harry Warden, was left alive and he ate the other four.

A year later, he came back to town and killed the two men responsible for the cave in. He left their hearts with a warning note that on Valentine’s Day rock music and dancing was banned…. no… wait… damnit, that was Footloose. He just said that they couldn’t have any more Valentine’s Day dances ever again. Don’t you hate it when one murderer ruins it for everyone?

So the kids have their party anyway, and they make it super easy for the killer because they decide to have it at the mine. I feel like no one was listening to the bartender. Even though they all said that they’ve heard the story before. Idiots. During the party, a few of the kids decide to take a trip into the mine, just as the bodies start being discovered. It doesn’t take long for the kids in the mine to realize that they are not only trapped 2,000 feet underground but they are there with the killer.

True Fear?

I would say yes. I don’t think the jump scares will get you but the fear can be found the gory details. My Bloody Valentine is not one for the squeamish! But if you have the stomach for it, it is definitely a great watch with a good story line.

One thought on “Movie Review: My Bloody Valentine

  1. Ok so as head of squeamish chapter 32, I will not be partaking in this movie. Your review is great! I loved the overview with all the sideline notes and observations. Your comments made me think of that funny Geico commercial where the kids are running from the killer. The girl says ” why don’t we get into the running car” and the boy says ” No, let’s go in the shed and hide behind all the chainsaws!” Flash to the killer who is just watching them, rolling his eyes and shaking his head. I can imagine the killer in this movie is like ” well…I was going to come to you to slash and mutilate but thank you very much for teen age victim home delivery” Why would they ever think having the party “in the mine” was a good idea??? Crazy kids!!!

    Like

Leave a comment