Number 23 on the Countdown to Halloween

Drive In Massacre

Movie Review by Siobahn Harris

Normally I would shrink this image down but I wanted you to enjoy the warning that came with this movie

Drive In Massacre was not what I expected at all! I found this movie on Halloween Flix and I was shocked at how good it was. I fully expected some randomly cheesy movie that had a few plastic body parts hitting the ground but no no.. it was way better.

Breakdown:

This one is pretty simple. There is a psycho killer on the loose and he seems to be killing couples at a drive in theater. The crazy part is, he is doing it with a fucking sword! Go big or go home, I guess. The story follows two detectives as they try and solve the case. We get to see them follow good leads and dead ends, but everything seems to circle around a few of the drive in workers. The question is, will they be able to solve the case in time or will this killer go free and continue his slaughter?

Thoughts:

Well, I feel like this movie’s name should be changed to “Holy Shit!” Like I said before, I was not expecting the show of violence that I got with this movie! While I could call who was going to die, I didn’t think the camera would zoom in and show the sword working its magic! It was great! Sure, you can tell it’s fake, but who cares, it was 1976 and during that time the audience was probably terrified seeing that much detail. When I got to see the first kill, I shouted “Holy shit!” and took it back to see it again!

Another thing, this movie didn’t wait. We jumped right into the kills. Which is the thing I love about a good horror movie. There is only so much detailed backstory that we want to sit through, and when a movie focuses only on the backstory it gets boring.

Unfortunately, because it was an old movie, there were times that the voices sounded a little muffled, and then there were times that the screen was super dark. Thankfully it didn’t ruin the movie, but that does mean that I missed out on some of the details that the original audience got to see.

I think the best part about this movie, was how they went out of their way to mix it into reality. You will have to watch it to see what I mean, but it was a pretty cool feature that I think scared a lot of people.

True Fear?

This one is a little harder to answer. Yes, I do think that there was True Fear but will that True Fear carry over to modern times, I don’t think so. Drive ins are pretty rare now, so we don’t have to worry about some psycho killer slicing us up in our cars. However, during that time period, I think people would have been terrified.

Keep in mind that Halloween Flix is a free place to watch movies, so you should definitely check it out! And if you watch Drive In Massacre, let me know what you thought!

One thought on “Movie Review: Drive In Massacre

  1. Great review! Though this will be one I pass on. Your descriptions are all I need. 🤓 This has a very 70’s feel to it. The movie poster, the title and the “warning”. Would have been one that my high school friends would have clamored to on Saturday night and than spent the next week regaling those who didn’t go with all the gore-filled details.

    Like

Leave a comment