Number 4 on the Countdown to Halloween

Reflection

Movie Review by Siobahn Harris

For this Maniacally Short Monday we are keeping it very short with Reflection. This was such a creepy short and is able to bring fear in under three minutes.

Breakdown:

A woman is doing her nightly routine when she notices something odd in the mirror. It starts with a sound, which is enough to make me run out of my house and sleep at a hotel. But soon, she can see something that isn’t trying to hide anymore. The night escalates quickly, and soon she is ready to break all of her mirrors.

Thoughts:

This short was made by a company called Daydream Pictures. While I couldn’t find their information on IMDB or Twitter, I did find them on Facebook. You should check them out and watch their other shorts as well! Here’s the link.

Someone sent me this short, and I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to get into it. That big goofy smile didn’t creep me out at all, so I thought, why watch this. However, judging a short by its cover was stupid. This was such a creepy ass short! Sure, the smile still doesn’t scare me but it’s the rest of the clip that does.

Something I wanted to point out was that the person… or thing… or creature that is harassing her seems to be doing the opposite of what she’s doing. She is straight faced through the clip but he laughs and has a big stupid smile plastered on his face. It makes me wonder if this short is showing this woman’s battle with depression. I know I’m probably over thinking this! But I just see the thing in her home as the medication that some of us have to take and how it’s meant to force the depression out. I don’t know, that’s just what I got from it.

Whether or not this short has a deeper meaning, it’s creepy as hell!

The visuals in Reflection make it worth the watch. The mirror on the floor scene, the wet footprints scene, I loved them. I was actually pretty surprised by how well this short was done.

True Fear?

Absolutely! Honestly, anytime I look in the bathroom mirror at night, I get worried that I’m going to see someone behind me. So this really plays on that paranoid fear of mine. However, I think anyone can find the True Fear in this short. Enjoy and good luck looking at any mirror the same way again.

One thought on “Movie Review: Reflection

  1. Wow! So much creepiness crammed into 3 minutes. I do see your thoughts on it possibly being an insight into the mind of a person with depression. I also can see it to be a look at the duality of everyone’s personality, the good and the bad. No matter what, it played on that fear of suddenly seeing something or someone behind us in a mirror. Like you are looking in the mirror, lean forward and there is no one behind you, you lean back up and than when you lean forward again suddenly someone is there. Ahhhhh gives me the chills. Great review of this horror shorty short. 😀

    Like

Leave a comment